What are the RNE Awards?

To show appreciation for extraordinary achievements and contributions to RNE’s work, an RNE Award has been conceptualised in 2022. The main aim is to motivate all partners to

  • Spotlight your excellence
    With the newly introduced award
  • Build and motivate your team
    Attract, retain and reward top talent
  • Turn stakeholder heads and prove your business impact
    Position your team as a strategic partner and show how you’re delivering value
  • Highlight your innovations
    Gain attention for your projects
  • Celebrate your achievements
    Enjoy recognition within and outside your organisation

Each year, the RNE Award committee carefully selects the awardees out of the list of nominees. The winners of this award are honored to recognize their outstanding achievements during the December General Assembly.

Nomination process

The nomination must be done via the official registration form by a member of the following groups - RNE GA or MB representatives, RNE HLG and WG chair persons, as well as RNE's Secretary General. Each submission must be entered in a seperate form (max. 1 nomination per person/entity and category).

Nomination criteria:

  • individual team, project or initiative that made a significant contribution to the European rail sector in any of the categories
  • candidate must be based in Europe
  • Nominations must be for a relevant achievement with proven results in line with category description
  • Nominations must include a clear description of the achievement that the person/project/initiative is being nominated for and can ideally be accompanied by a proper set of supporting documents (e.g. resume, articles, photos, presentations, videos, etc.)
  • Self-nomination is not allowed
  • MB members are excluded from receiving an award (part of jury)


History of award and previous winners

The RNE Awards were first introduced in 2022 and 2 nominees were found.

Daniel Haltner received the RNE Certificate of Achievement for his extraordinary contributions to the Timetable Redesign (TTR) for Smart Capacity Management Programme since its inception in 2014, outstanding work in the areas of capacity management and timetabling in various leading roles, and significant part as a key contributor in the technical setup of the Rail Freight Corridors.

Freddy van der Cruyssen received the RNE Certificate of Achievement for his extraordinary contributions as co-founder of the European Capacity Management Tool (ECMT) and active member in the Digital Capacity Management and TTR Process working groups, outstanding work for the Path Coordination System (PCS), and vital role in the TTCom (Simple Communication Tool for Timetabling) application.

RNE President Paul Mazataud thanked the two awardees for their excellent work and invaluable contributions.

Daniel Haltner was present at the General Assembly to accept the award. He thanked RNE and said he was honoured to receive the award and grateful for the support of his work he experienced from RNE Joint Office Colleagues, RNE Members and, finally, Thomas Isenmann (TVS), who ensured that enough working time was always available for RNE-related activities. He concluded that due to his passion for international rail transport, he will continue to guide his work, even beyond his retirement.

Freddy van der Cruyssen was on vacation at the time and could not be present to receive the award but asked Michel Geubelle (Infrabel), who accepted the award on behalf of Mr van der Cruyssen, to convey that he was very proud to have received the award and would continue working to make TTR a success for all stakeholders.

RNE’s efforts are highly enhanced by many different individuals, as well as companies. It is our hope that the RNE Awards will serve to convey increased visibility and appreciation for exceptional work done and encourage involvement in RNE’s activities, today and in the future.